Skip to content

H808 First Week and Initial Thoughts

September 10, 2010
tags:

As per the core activity 1.4 I will put down a few notes of my first impressions of H808 as I come to the end of the first week.

Firstly I am glad to be back on the trail of seeking the MAODE with the OU. I have taken enough time out from taking part in the H800 which I found to be very draining, not just because of the nature of the content but also because of the pro-activeness of my tutor group as well as work and family life strains.

I am half glad to see that I am not being bombarded with email notifications from the tutor group forums however my own tutor group forum does seem to be strewn with tumble-weed. Perhaps it will pick up next week.

From looking through other tutor groups I can see a number of familiar names from last year, which is nice. One of the changes I see this year is the improvement of the forums, which I think is vastly superior to the last version. I like the fact that it differentiates between read and unread posts and collapses the read ones accordingly. Also the inclusion of a small photo gives it a more human touch, which I think is very important.

The first unit in delivery is very familiar and has an H8’ty feel about it. My fellow students seem to be a friendly bunch and it is interesting to see the spread of academic, private sector and freelance.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. rnschoolie permalink
    September 14, 2010 4:44 pm

    Simon, Love the tag line. How very true. Grant.

  2. November 10, 2012 1:43 am

    I simply could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the standard
    info a person provide on your guests? Is gonna be again steadily to check out new posts

  3. December 2, 2012 2:53 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it
    helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like
    you aided me.

  4. February 27, 2013 8:00 am

    Excellent post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more
    on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Cheers! Vonnie

Leave a Reply

